Home Schools Jr. Sr. High School High School Students Inducted Into the National Honor Society

High School Students Inducted Into the National Honor Society

Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student.  The National Honor Society has worked hard to bring the accomplishments of outstanding students to the attention of parents, teachers, peers and community.  Chapters in more than 12,500 high schools across the nation strive to give practical meaning to the Society’s goals of scholarship, leadership, service and character.  These four ideals have been considered as the basis for selection of new members.  No student is inducted simply because of a high academic average.  The National Honor Society strives to recognize the total student: one who excels in all these areas.
Congratulations to the ten new members of the Fairbury High School chapter of National Honor Society including:
Rusti Bassett
Devin Holliday
Josephine Blatny
Kennedy DeBoer
Sara Huss
Jaelle Johnson
Hannah Knigge
Taylor Runge
Izze Schwab
Claire Shumard
These students were “kidnapped” (with parent permission) early in the morning and brought to school.  They celebrated with the nineteen current members by eating breakfast together and laughing about their morning adventure.  Then they were featured on the Stu Co Show.
A fun note regarding members this year is we have four pairs of siblings – Evie and Izze Schwab, Marah and Claire Shumard, Jacob and Jaelle Johnson (picture with Emily not Jacob), Dawson and Kennedy DeBoer.
A formal induction ceremony will be held on January 16th at 7:30 p.m. in the BFAC.