Home Jr. Sr. High School Activities State FFA Convention 2017

State FFA Convention 2017

The Fairbury FFA Chapter members attended the 2017 Nebraska FFA State Convention, April 6-8 in Lincoln, Nebraska. Events were held at the Pinnacle Bank Arena, hotels in Lincoln’s Haymarket, and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln East Campus.  It was the 89th year for the Nebraska State FFA Convention and a memorable one for the Fairbury FFA Chapter as the Agricultural Biotechnology Team were named State Champions.  FFA members, advisors and guests supported chapters and award recipients.  Attendees had the opportunity to listen to motivational speakers and retiring state officer addresses during convention sessions.  Students were engaged in leadership workshops, competed in Leadership Skills Events and attended the annual Career Fair.  Students also participated in the State Career Development Events on UNL’s East Campus.

Individual award winners for the Fairbury FFA Chapter include the Agricultural Biotechnology team that received a Purple Ribbon as a team and were Named State Champions.  The team consisted of Ashley Griffee who received a purple ribbon and was named the Individual State Champion, Taylor Runge who placed 5th and received a Purple Ribbon, Jordan Ruhnke who placed 6th received a Purple Ribbon, and Jared Engelman who received a Blue Ribbon.   

Agriscience team that received a Blue Ribbon as a team and consisted of Sara Huss who received a Blue Ribbon, Taylor Runge who received,  a Red Ribbon, Devin Wanamaker, and Bret Cole.  

The Agronomy team  received a Purple Ribbon as a team and consisted of Ashley Griffee who received a Purple Ribbon, Michaela Buchli who received a Blue Ribbon, Kaylee Sipek who received a Red Ribbon, and Delaney Miller.   

The Farm Management Team Received a Blue Ribbon as a team and consisted of Patrick Ondrak who received a Blue Ribbon, Bailey Taylor who received a Blue Ribbon, Madison Black, and Brent Hirsch.  

The Senior Livestock Evaluation Team consisted of Sara McCown who received a Blue Ribbon, Blake Bauer, Jordan Ruhnke, and Althea Esteller.  

The Meat Judging team consisted of Garret Ragland who received a Blue Ribbon, Zach Holes, Althea Esteller, and Jon Engelman.

The Natural Resources Team received a Red Ribbon and consisted of Jake Maschmann who received a blue ribbon, Brock Barton, and Trevin Arnold.  

The Welding team consisted of Brock Barton who competed in the Gas Metal Arc Welding event and received a white ribbon and Brandon Hinrichs who competed in the OxyAcetylene welding event.  

Michaela Buchli competed in the Junior Public Speaking Leadership Skills Event and received a Gold rating.  Come forward and receive your medal.

Carson Bohlmeyer, Patrick Ondrak, Blake Bauer, and Althea Esteller also received their State FFA Degrees.  This is the highest honor an FFA Member can receive at the state level.  

Fairbury Public Schools Superintendent Mr. Stephen Grizzle also received the Cornerstone Award.  This is awarded to school leaders who have a vision and support Career Education Programs within their school.    

The Fairbury FFA Chapter had a great time at state convention and will be looking to keep building in their experiences and contest results for next year.  Congratulations to all of the Fairbury FFA members who received ribbons at the state convention.